If you speed beyond the limit, you can be stopped and cited. However, did you know that the penalties could be significant if you go more than 15 mph over the limit? At that point, you may be cited for reckless driving rather than just speeding, and you could be fined up to $500 for a first offense.
To help you avoid speeding tickets, you need to know the general speed limits in Arkansas. These are:
- 75 mph on interstates and freeways as posted
- 65 mph on divided roads and urban freeways or highways (as posted)
- 60 mph on undivided roads, but the limits may drop as low as 30 mph
- 30 mph in urban or residential districts
- 25 mph in school zones or whenever children are present
Knowing the limits that should apply where you are is important, because you can tailor your speed to the conditions.
Speeding at 15 mph or more over the speed limit is considered as a “serious traffic violation.”
Arkansas uses a points system to control licensing
Whenever you speed, there is a potential for you to be cited and have points added to your license. If you get 10 to 13 points, you’ll get a warning. If you get more than that, you’ll lose your license.
The point system assigns between 3 and 8 points for speeding. If you’re going one to 10 mph over the limit, you’ll get 3 points upon conviction. For 11-20, 4 points. For 21 to 30 mph, 5 points. Then, finally, for 31 or more mph over the limit, 8 points.
You have options when facing speeding tickets
You do have options if you’re cited for speeding. You can pay fines, but doing so admits guilt. You may want to plead not guilty and build a defense, especially if you are facing charges like reckless driving. You may also want to take an online defensive driving course to minimize the points that could end up on your license.
While many people don’t think that it’s necessary to defend against traffic tickets, it is. You have rights, including the right to a defense against citations.